Tags

, , , , ,

 

Image

No, 2914 Denver Coffee shop is not a typo. Yes, it is weird to see a 4-number combo that isn’t 5280 in Denver. 2914 has a double meaning to this top rated local café. First, the address is you guessed it, 2914 (W. 25th Ave). The other meaning is it is important dates to the couple that owns the two-year old café. They were married in Mexico on 2/9 and became officially married 2/14. Put two together and you get 2914. Presh. Anthony Davis is an artist with his work posted all over the coffee shop. I happened to sit at a table that had a book of his artwork in there and found that a handful of the pictures on the wall matched the ones in the book. I put two and two together and the self portrait on the first page matching the barista working, he is the artist and owner.

Image

The artwork posted by the owner sets the tone for the coffee shop. He has a graffiti-inspired design that goes well with the off beat design. The lights like any other place are perfect. They were…  well okay, I don’t know the technical term for them so let’s cell them string dim light bulb lights and let me just say they fit very well in the space. The floor looked as if it were the original dark hardwood in a semi industrial room. There is limited space as the room isn’t huge. I don’t see the capacity being over 45. The tables and chairs looked like something you would find at a garage sale as there were mix and match sets and didn’t look… brand new. The entire space has a local feel to it where it came to no surprise that the only worker was the owner.

Jefferson Park seems to be one area of Denver that just about well, no one really finds themselves in. It’s out of the way, not an area you would want to walk around in as it is rather sketchy. The area does seem to be getting cleaned up and new restaurants and shops are popping up left and right. This particular coffee shop though, looked nice from the outside even though it’s not in a crazy great area.

IMG_7267OK. I just need to get this out of the way and clear the air. Them pastries. They looked fresh and if I still wasn’t full from Lunch I would have gotten a chocolate chip muffin. They looked like they were even made there, that’s how fresh they looked. Turns out they are from Boulder. I’m turning into a local snob and even being from Boulder is not local enough for me. There are so many coffee shops and local pastry shops that carry Denver based pastries that I’m able to be a little picky with this one. I think the owners are from Boulder so if this is true, I’ll let it slide. But even worse, they didn’t have a vegan option. They did have GF but again, there is such a competition in coffee shops out here that having vegan options is almost a necessity. Whatever, maybe it’s just me. If you are looking for food, don’t bother. There are only pastries but *insert over dramatic grunt* their coffee is so good. Of course, my almond milk latte DID NOT DISAPPOINT! On the counter you’ll find a 5280 Magazine article framed of the top Denver coffee shops framed. They were voted number 10 and one of the aspects that got them to the top of the list was they are known for their coffee art. By the looks of my coffee, I get it.

Image

For a local coffee shop, I was thrown off not to see any Novo, Huckleberry, Pablos. Nothing. The coffee they had there and were selling was completely unfamiliar. They got my attention. I scrambled for my phone, found the WiFI login and it required a password. Once again, I did not see it posted anywhere nor did I want to make the effort to ask for it. Seriously, just stop having passwords. Anyways, I skipped the wi-fi and went straight to google. I searched Kaladi immediately. Turns out it is a local Denver based coffee company. It isn’t sold in any local grocery stores that I’ve seen. So it could be a new coffee company that will start being sold in other local cafes. 

 

I’m not going to lie, at first I wasn’t crazy about the place. I thought it was very average. But the more I found out about the cafe such as the artwork being done by the owner it completely changed everything. I looked at it as a way for the owner to make it like his art gallery. The furniture started to make a little more sense and the overall edge to the place. The music though could use a little work. It didn’t have me moving around in my seat or got me thinking. It was just white noise almost. I love going to a place and dying to find out who the song is by or what pandora station it is.

Image

For a Wednesday evening, the place wasn’t hoppin. For the area, I’m not surprised. However, not everyone wants to be at a coffee shop that is constantly busy. It would be perfect for a coffee shop that you can escape to and get legit, good coffee and not have to look like a million bucks. It certainly has character and wouldn’t be too bad to sit outside on a nice day in their outdoor seating area. If I had to appoint an award to this coffee shop it would be the most isolated local coffee shop. You wouldn’t end up in the area on accident so if you are looking for a place to escape to with a bit of research, this is it. However, since they are top rated and on so many go-to lists, a bet a lot of the people that are there have been referred to this spot by word of mouth or a simple good search of, “best Denver coffee shops”

Image

Verdict: I actually probably wouldn’t go back. They are just so out of the way but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t recommend it. I think it’s a great place but just from location to the smaller things I look out for, there are just better places. I do fully support the coffee shop and  want to keep an eye out for the coffee beans they carry in the future. Also, let me leave you with one mind-blowing connection I put together: they are known for their coffee art AND the owner is an artist.

